It’s interesting to read the upside blog post – “Instructional Design for Beginners – What Motivates People To Learn?” and see John Keller’s ARCS model of Motivational Design. It helps design the motivational aspects of learning environments to stimulate and sustain students’ motivation to learn.

I played Freerice (the world’s only online game that allows you to raise rice for the hungry, while you learn). It’s interesting. The questions are not so difficult, especially maths, and I feel good indeed when I see the donated rice increasing.

However, it gives me the correct answer when I get it wrong. I feel it would be better if it doesn’t tell me the answer and I may want to try it again and again until I get it right; and I may remember the answer easily after a couple of clicks. To motivate a learner’s curiosity is also important, isn’t it?

