I attended the Directorate event this afternoon. Realised that so many colleagues working on a wide range of projects, and I might meet many of them in a corridor before, but never talked to them. People looked around and tried to find familiar faces… I like the topic “new decade, new futures”, and a highlighted word – “Change“. It reminds me what Charles Franklin Kettering (August 29, 1876 – November 24 or November 25, 1958) said,

“My interest is in the future because I am going to spend the rest of my life there.”

I got to know what the university focuses on and how it analyses/uses the public statistic data to help the university to improve; I knew that the university has the largest wireless network in UK Higher Education; I saw how different services (e.g., media resources, HPC, sustainable data storage) are supporting teaching and learning, and also got a few of the lovely SCOLAR postcards.

